Really weird problem with the carb on my 1971 CB100

Really weird problem with the carb on my 1971 CB100

I picked up a 1971 CB100 recently to make into a street scrambler/mini adventure bike. This is my first project bike so I'm learning as I go. Bought the bike as a non runner but after consulting the original manual found the main issue was the timing and the points were in contact with eachover and got it started. Anyhow the problem I found when tuning the carb is that the slide seems to stick, the weird part is when I tighten the carb onto the engine the slide becomes even more resistant to movement to the point where it will hold the throttle open. I've checked the throttle and it isn't the culprit and the spring in the carb certainly isn't weak.

Anyone else ran into this problem? Is it fixable or is this a case of replacing the carb?

Sorry but we need pictures of that nice CB100 before we can help!!
    Just kidding , lol but we would love to see it!

Someone will be along to help.
    Where abouts in England?
    Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!”

Hunter S. Thompson

1970 CB350
    1974 CT70
    1977 XL75
    2005 PW80

Over-tightening has been known to bend the carb flanges and "warp" the bodies.... Sometimes fixable, sometimes not.....
    If the slide still binds when carb is unbolted and removed from engine, it is replacement time........
    "I have a mind like a steel trap.....Old and rusty, of antiquated design, and hard to get stuff back out of...."
    Contact info: E-mail; [email protected] Phone; 540-525-5199

4. Remove Advertisements
    HondaTwins.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by ctrider View Post
    Sorry but we need pictures of that nice CB100 before we can help!!