CL350: A Montana Barn Find
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: CL350: A Montana Barn Find

CL350: A Montana Barn Find

A bit of background, skip this if you don't care that much.

It's amazing what a bit of talking can get a person into. Too much talking or talking in the wrong way can get a person into a lot of trouble. But talking the right talk can bring a lot of opportunity.

So her we are, two people manning a deli in Missoula, Montana. I'm a college student, 24 years old and full of energy (fueled by the hope of one day getting a real job) and I'm paired with this woman who's 60 years young. She's been a lifelong hippie of sorts, just the kind of person you'd see around Missoula. She and her husband traveled the country in their 20's and just kinda ended up stuck in western Montana and never bothered to leave. They've spent the last 4 decades building a life up in the Swan Valley. They have a few acres tucked into the woods about an hour out of town, had a couple of kids, and generally managed to have a pretty decent life.

But my co-worker isn't old enough yet to cash in on all the social security she's been putting in with decades of work and she needs health insurance in case something happens in the next few years, so here she is, working with yours truly in a grocery store deli. Usually we're working our butts off to keep up with the endless stream of customers but on this April night things are pretty slow and we're almost done for the night. On nights like these topics wander from politics to personal stories. That night we were talking about transportation, and how hard it is to get for a reasonable cost these days. In Missoula at least, it's really hard to find a decent car for under 5k. She's got an old Toyota that's served her well, I've got a Chrysler. During the conversation I relented on the used car situation: