Honda Twins banner

Gas leaking through carb drain

43K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Loudo 
#1 ·
Hi Guys
I am not a great mechanic and have had the bike for only a week.
Drove it to work a couple of days and been out on it say 8 other times with no issues.
Park it in the garage and for sure no leaking. This morning I went out for a ride and 10 blocks along I stopped to show my friend my new toy as he was walking his dog. After I stopped, we noticed gas pouring out the carb drain. I turned around and came home, shut of the gas, and checked around a little. When I opened the carb drain screw, it seemed to leak right where the hose meets under the carb. Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Other wise bike is in near mint condition.
Oh yeah, it is a 1970 cb350.

#2 ·
ctrider said:
Hi Guys
I am not a great mechanic and have had the bike for only a week.
Drove it to work a couple of days and been out on it say 8 other times with no issues.
Park it in the garage and for sure no leaking. This morning I went out for a ride and 10 blocks along I stopped to show my friend my new toy as he was walking his dog. After I stopped, we noticed gas pouring out the carb drain. I turned around and came home, shut of the gas, and checked around a little. When I opened the carb drain screw, it seemed to leak right where the hose meets under the carb. Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Other wise bike is in near mint condition.
Oh yeah, it is a 1970 cb350.

Hey man,
Don't worry I got you covered. I ran into the same problem about a year ago...I had no idea what I was doing, I honestly would just ride it to work (about 1.5 miles) and try and beat the drip...a little embarrassing when the sentry stops you 3 days in a row, "Sir, I'm no mechanic but you really should get that fixed." The only thing you need is a little (and I stress a little) liquid gasket...any NAPA or auto parts store will have you covered.