Getting old 1974 CB450 up and running!
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Getting old 1974 CB450 up and running!

Getting old 1974 CB450 up and running!

Hi everyone — Here's the bike that I'm going to be working on over the summer. Goal is to get it running and slowly restore over the next year or so.

I have re-installed a missing kick lever and determined that the engine is seized. The previous owner said he'd poured in some of that mystery oil stuff into the spark plugs 3 weeks ago, but it's still not moving easily and I don't want to push it. Side note, it moves freely for about the first 45 degrees then just stops as if it's not supposed to turn anymore. Interestingly, the engine VIN has a different number than the body, and so I suppose this will be the bike's 3rd coming-back-to-life event.

I imagine removing/restoring/replacing the engine will have to be step one. I do plan on giving this a whack myself. I'm new to engine work, but I've been wrenching on old trucks/cars for about the last 7 years in a hobby night class and I'm very excited to have this project.

Here are some pics. Much of the rust comes off with a wire brush fortunately. Also, I just cleaned out my "shop" last night. I'll be posting questions as I stumble into them.

Thanks!

EDIT: uploading pics now...

Edit: anyone know what the corroded prod piece in the below picture is? I pulled it out of the gas tank...

Edit: I will take advice on a replacement battery....

My "shop":
    Last edited by fillmarr; 04-30-2017 at 09:55 AM.
    JimmieJag and jbc2408 like this.
    Boston, MA. Proud owner of a $700, 1974 Honda CB450 K7 that doesn't run. Looking for advice on getting running and looking sharp. No need for perfection, but trying to show the bike some respect!

Quote Originally Posted by fillmarr View Post
    Hi everyone — Here's the bike that I'm going to be working on over the summer. Goa lis to get it running and slowly restore over the next year or so.